home page banner
Visit Arundel

Arundel Town Council Community Award 2017 “Arundel celebrates its community spirit” | Blog

Arundel Town Council Community Award 2017 “Arundel celebrates its community spirit”

On Thursday, 7th December 2017, the Mayor of Arundel, Councillor Angela Standing, presented the third annual Arundel Community Award to Gill Hart for her work with the 1st Arundel (Earl of Arundel's Own) Scout Group.
In attendance at the evening award ceremony at Arundel Town Hall were nominees and invited guests representing various groups, charities and organisations working for the benefit of Arundel and the wider community.
The Mayor welcomed attendees to the event saying “that there are around 70 groups and organisations in Arundel ranging from the young with the Youth Club and Scouting Organisation to senior citizens with the Lavinian Club and this is an opportunity where we get to say thank you to all of Arundel’s unsung heroes.”
The Mayor presented the award to the winner 1st Arundel Scout Group Scout Leader Gill Hart and said “Gill has been giving her time to the scouting movement for over 30 years. Generations of Arundel residents have benefitted from her scouting skills, in helping young people reach their potential. With her endless enthusiasm, dedication, care, tireless support and fundraising she is the backbone of the Arundel Scout Group.”
The public is invited each year to nominate groups or individuals for the annual Arundel Town Council’s Community Award and the winner is chosen by the full Town Council. The full list of 2017 Arundel Community Award nominees was:
·       Geoff Allan for his work for both for Arundel Gardens Association and St Philip’s School.
·       The Arundel Festival 2017 Committee for their hard work bringing an amazing mix of entertainment to the town over the 10 days of the festival.
·       Mark Bullen for his work with the Arundel Cricket Club within the youth sections.
·       Gill Farquharson as editor of The Bell magazine and for her work on the Arundel Festival brochure.
·       Gill Hart (Winner) for over 30 year’s work with the 1st Arundel (Earl of Arundel’s Own) Scout Group.
·       Mark Lay who was posthumously nominated for his charity work raising money for Macmillan Cancer Support and organising a ‘Paint the Town Green Day’ in Arundel.
·       Bob Tanner for his work with Arundel Gardens Association, schools and as Tree Warden for Arundel Town Council.
·       Marian Webb for her work for Arundel Museum and the Chamber of Commerce.
The Mayor thanked the Town Hall Staff and fellow councillors for their hard work, help and continuing support this year and ended the evening by saying “I would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Healthy New Year.”